top of page
Search
  • jkundycki

Artificial Intelligence in Art

How some artists are using statistical programming to create modern art.


From a young age, I was lucky to have parents who encouraged me into learning about art. They bought me a book with animals in it that I could practice drawing when I was about 4 or 5 years old and one of my older memories is attempting to draw them on a plane ride from Belgium to the US. I loved drawing so they signed me up for art programs. I did them for a few years and don’t practice visual arts regrettably, but I still have a deep appreciation for most of the work that artists put out there.

After being surrounded by parents that encouraged the arts, I’m glad to see that my immediate family all turned out very artistic and practice regularly. With such an appreciation of art, it is no surprise I’m also dating an artist and art teacher. On one of our nightly phone calls, Chloe was excited to tell about a lesson she had planned out for her students about the different ways artificial intelligence is being used in art. Some of the work is jaw dropping and I wanted to share it with readers in this post.



Artificial Intelligence for Visual Art

Some artists are using creative new ways to utilize artificial intelligence in combination with their artistic prowess. Here are some of my favorite artists that incorporate AI into their work and my favorite pieces of theirs that showcase their ingenuity and skill.


Memo Atken

Memo Akten is an artist and researcher from Istabul, Turkey who uses Artificial Intelligence and art to explore and express the interconnectedness that exists between science and spirituality. He uploads a lot of his artwork to youtube. Here is a snippet from his work Deep Meditations in which he uses neural networks as a medium to tell a story with meaningful human control:



Memo has a lot of other breathtaking and thought provoking pieces and I recommend checking it all out.

Here is a link to his website where you can find his work and learn more about him: http://www.memo.tv/works/#selected-works



Sougwen Chung

Soungwen Chung is internationally recognized as a multidisciplinary artist. She is Chinese-born and Canadian-raised. Her work with artificial intelligence seeks to better understand the interaction between humans and computers by exploring marks made by hand vs marks made by machine.



Here is a link to her website to check out more of her awe-inspiring work: https://sougwen.com/.



Pindar Van Arman

Pindar Van Arman is a creative AI artist who codes and teaches robots how to paint in a variety of different styles. He is also known for his award-winning work called CloudPainter, which is an autonomous robot that anyone can go online and use to control and produce artworks. It’s truly exceptional to see what Van Arman has been able to program and have his machines produce.



Here is a link to the CloudPainter website where you can check out most of his work: https://www.cloudpainter.com/.



Concluding Remarks

It’s amazing and inspiring to see what people have been able to do in conjunction with machine learning and I’m excited to learn and see what new and innovative ways AI will be used. I provided a synopsis of some of my favorite AI artists but you can find many more on the web. The website provided below is one of the best links I’ve found to learn more about AI artists and the impact of their works:




2 views
bottom of page